# House Committee on Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs

Minutes of Meeting 2024 Regular Session May 22, 2024

# I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative Foy Bryan Gadberry, chair of the House Committee on Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs, called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m. in Room 6, in the state capitol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

## II. ROLL CALL

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Representative Foy Bryan Gadberry, chair

Representative Michael Robert "Mike" Bayham, Jr.

Representative Beth Anne Billings

Representative Vincent E. Cox, III

Representative Jessica Domangue

Representative Les Farnum

Representative Barbara Reich Freiberg, vice chair

Representative Steven Jackson

Representative Alonzo L. Knox

Representative Rodney Lyons

Representative C. Denise Marcelle

Representative Candace N. Newell

Representative Joseph A. Stagni

Representative Matthew Willard

## **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Representative Kim Carver

Representative Bryan Fontenot

Representative Patricia "Pat" Moore

Representative Charles Anthony Owen

Representative Rashid Armand Young

#### **STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Tina Righteous, attorney Blake Byrom, legislative analyst Natayveon Howard-Williams, committee administrative assistant Sarah Baker, committee clerk

#### ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES PRESENT:

Frank Meyer IV, clerk Janet Anthony, sergeant at arms Angela McKnight, sergeant at arms

# III. DISCUSSION OF LEGISLATION

## Senate Bill No. 469 by Senator Price

Senator Price presented Senate Bill No. 469, which provides for the Ascension Parish Road Infrastructure Development Districts.

Representative Stagni offered a motion to report Senate Bill No. 469 favorably. Without objection, Senate Bill No. 469 was reported favorably by a vote of 13 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Gadberry, Billings, Cox, Domangue, Farnum, Freiberg, Jackson, Knox, Lyons, Marcelle, Newell, Stagni, and Willard voted yea.

Richard M. Compton, Jr., Ascension Parish, 15247 Bayou Trace, Gonzales, LA 70737, spoke in support of Senate Bill No. 469.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 2 in support. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

## Senate Bill No. 477 by Senator Jenkins

Senator Jenkins presented Senate Bill No. 477, which establishes the Shreveport Water Works Museum as a facility within the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism.

Representative Jackson offered a motion to report Senate Bill No. 477 favorably. Without objection, Senate Bill No. 477 was reported favorably by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Gadberry, Billings, Cox, Domangue, Farnum, Freiberg, Jackson, Knox, Lyons, Newell, Stagni, and Willard voted yea.

## Senate Bill No. 265 by Senator Womack

Vice chair Freiberg in the chair.

On behalf of Senator Womack, Representative Gadberry presented Senate Bill No. 265, which provides relative to public contracts and public works.

Matthew Byrd, Gray Surety, 3801 North I-10 Service Road West, Metairie, LA 70008, spoke in support of Senate Bill No. 265.

Representative Marcelle offered a motion to report Senate Bill No. 265 favorably. Without objection, Senate Bill No. 265 was reported favorably by a vote of 14 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Gadberry, Bayham, Billings, Cox, Domangue, Farnum, Freiberg, Jackson, Knox, Lyons, Marcelle, Newell, Stagni, and Willard voted yea.

Chair Gadberry in the chair.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 2 in support. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

## Senate Bill No. 136 by Senator Talbot

Senator Talbot presented Senate Bill No. 136, which provides for residency requirements relative to the Ernest N. Morial-New Orleans Exhibition Authority.

Representative Stagni offered a motion to report Senate Bill No. 136 favorably. Without objection, Senate Bill No. 136 was reported favorably by a vote of 14 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Gadberry, Bayham, Billings, Cox, Domangue, Farnum, Freiberg, Jackson, Knox, Lyons, Marcelle, Newell, Stagni, and Willard voted yea.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 1 in support. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

# Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 39 by Senator Cathey

Senator Cathey presented Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 39, which provides for a study on the distribution of certain ad valorem taxes.

Representative Marcelle offered amendments to add the Louisiana School Boards Association to the list of entities to provide input to the Commission on Equitable Distribution of certain Ad Valorem taxes.

Representative Marcelle offered a motion to adopt the proposed amendments. Without objection, the amendments were adopted by a vote of 14 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Gadberry, Bayham, Billings, Cox, Domangue, Farnum, Freiberg, Jackson, Knox, Lyons, Marcelle, Newell, Stagni, and Willard voted yea.

Representative Newell offered a motion to report Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 39 with amendments. Without objection, Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 39 was reported with amendments by a vote of 13 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Gadberry, Bayham, Billings, Cox, Domangue, Farnum, Freiberg, Jackson, Knox, Lyons, Marcelle, Newell, and Willard voted yea.

# **Senate Bill No. 460 by Senator Duplessis**

Senator Duplessis presented Senate Bill No. 460, which provides for lead service line replacement.

Representative Lyons offered a motion to report Senate Bill No. 460 favorably. Without objection, Senate Bill No. 460 was reported favorably by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Gadberry, Billings, Cox, Domangue, Farnum, Freiberg, Jackson, Knox, Lyons, Marcelle, Newell, and Willard voted yea.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 2 in support. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

## IV. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

#### V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

#### VI. ADJOURNMENT

Representative Newell offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Gadberry, Billings, Cox, Domangue, Farnum, Freiberg, Jackson, Knox, Lyons, Marcelle, Newell, and Willard voted yea.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:53 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Chair Foy Bryan Gadberry House Committee on Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs

Date adopted: